The B/S Chronicles: Coffee

We grew up together; now we blog together. In the B/S Chronicles you’ll get to experience viewpoints from a brother/sister team…who may or may not always see things eye-to-eye.

The B/S Chronicles: Coffee

Robust flavors. Energizing aromas. Revitalizing caffeine kicks. – Coffee stimulates all the senses, resulting in a euphoric state of bliss.

For most of my life I avoided coffee, finding it bitter with a lingering aftertaste that left my breath tasting and smelling like a bag of rotting potatoes.  Occasionally I chose to subject myself to the torture all for the sake of friends because it wasn’t about the coffee…it was about the conversations and friendship.

I didn’t really start drinking coffee regularly until I lived in Ukraine.  As I started to make friends I realized a recurring pattern…they all wanted to meet over coffee.  Small, standing-room-only coffeeshops could be found on practically every corner, and they were always packed with people. Often, my new friends would call and explain that they had 30 minutes of free time between jobs or before their bus would arrive; would I like to meet at the corner coffee shop?

30 minutes to spare…and they wanted that time with a friend.  I often think about those moments, how special they were to me.

I miss them.

Although in America we’d rather spend 30 minutes of free time alone or at home, and seem to plan out our coffeeshop gatherings in advance, we still get to enjoy the results of sipping a hot cup of joe with a friend…and, if that’s what it takes to grow a friendship…then I’ll take mine in Venti size with extra whip cream!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

What does Jeremy think about coffee?  Click Here to find out.

Next B/S Chronicles topic:  Discipline



3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 18:27:05

    I think I like you better than Jeremy.

    Reply

  2. jerry wheeler
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 19:14:00

    well, I’ve been quiet on the other blogs having been proud of both of you. This one puts you in the winners corner, assuming there is one, because your brother just does not understand. Even though we knowledgeabe drinkers know the difference in coffee, we do relish the experience more. Unless its absolutely awful coffee, then I just pick new friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

