The B/S Chronicles: Leadership

We grew up together; now we blog together.  In the B/S Chronicles you’ll get to experience viewpoints from a brother/sister team…who may or may not always see things eye-to-eye.

The B/S Chronicles:  Leadership

The art of leadership is saying no, not yes.  It is very easy to say yes. ~Tony Blair

There are many words that roll easily off my tongue.

No is not one of them.

For most of my life, as I’ve been involved in some form of ministry or activities, others could always count on me because I always said “yes” to their requests and followed through as best as I could.  Even when I realistically should not have agreed to take on more responsibility, the thought of possibly disappointing someone made me feel horrible.

Now, as a leader, I still find it hard to say “no”.    It’s that darned disappointment thing…

However, I’m learning that I must say NO, not because I don’t have the time or too much already on my plate (although, those can be valid reasons…& that’s when management and facilitation comes into play), but because I, the leader, am responsible for keeping the vision of the ministry pure and focused.  Many people have great ideas, but if they don’t fit into the vision or goals, then they are counterproductive.

A few months ago I listened to Craig Groeschel explain how at one time in the history of his church, LifeChurch.tv, they had a large amount of ministries.  Think of a ministry, they had it.  Sports, concerts, conferences, and a plethora of other ministry opportunities filled the church calendar.  To anyone looking at the wide range of ministries, the church appeared to be perfect.  But to Craig, “we added things we didn’t need, and strangled what we already had.  All these new things that we finally started doing didn’t contribute to the vision.  They competed with the vision.  We were directing tons of resources into nonproductive areas.”  Soon after, he and the church leaders ended all but 5 ministries.  Why just 5?  He explains, “because we believe those are the 5 things that God has called us to do and has best equipped us to do.  Just because you can do something doesn’t mean you should do it.”**

Soon after listening to Craig’s story, I was reading Galatians chapter 1.  I couldn’t get past verse 10, “For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ.”

Lord, am I saying “Yes” because I don’t want to disappoint those I lead or am I saying “Yes” because this idea aligns with the vision you have given me?  Who am I trying to please?

There will be disappointment whenever the word “no” is spoken.  It’s a small word that many people hate to hear…but if it keeps us focused on the vision God has given us, then it must be said.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

**It: How Churches and Leaders Can Get It and Keep It by Craig Groeschel

Leadership:  What are Jeremy’s thoughts?  Click Here to read!

Next B/S Topic:  Aging

Leave a Reply

