operation beautiful

I found this note stuck to the bathroom stall door at work.  It was positioned perfectly at eye level once you sit on the commode. 

My first thought was, “oh, sad day…this person misspelled truly.  Too bad I don’t have a sharpie.” 

But then I scolded myself  for being so petty, because the message on this little post-it is powerful…more important than any spelling lesson.

I wish I had believed that message growing up; it would have saved me many years of turmoil.  Even today I catch myself listening to the lies of “you’re too fat”, ” you’re not pretty enough” and “you have the ugliest smile”.  

The same lies are believed by millions of women around the globe.  But, that’s not who we are…and it’s not who God says we are…We are wonderfully made! (Psalm 139:14)

We are truely beautiful!

www.operationbeautiful.com

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 13:29:55

    Wow! I thought the same thing about the misspelling. What a great message! Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply

  2. Anna
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 13:31:29

    I might have just misspelled “misspelling”. Arg! Better get the dictionary out. It’s funny when I can laugh at my own mistakes!

    Reply

  3. Alan
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 07:06:01

    Your story is a story I hear too often, people beaten up by those who were suppose to love them, because they do not meet some value that society has decided to extol. My hope is that every person that God places in my path, will find their value in the eyes of their creator and not in my opinions or the opinions of the world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

