Be Thou My Vision

Last night I went to sleep singing the old Irish hymn “Be Thou My Vision”.  When I woke up this morning, i was still singing it.  It’s definitely one of my favorites, as its words are so intimate and prayerful. 

Be Thou my vision, oh Lord of my heart
Nought be all else to me, save that Thou art
Thou my best thought by day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light

Be Thou my wisdom, and Thou my true word
I ever with Thee and Thou with me Lord
Thou my great Father and I Thy true son
Thou in me dwelling and I with Thee one

Riches I need not, nor man’s empty praise
Thou mine inheritance now and always
Thou and Thou only first in my heart
High king of heaven my treasure Thou art

High king of heaven, my victory won
May I reach heaven’s joy, bright heaven sun
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall
Still be my vision, oh ruler of all

 

What is your favorite hymn?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 17:34:27

    I love hymns!!! I can’t pick one to be my favorite – but I really like “Be Still For the Presence of the Lord” and a little unknown hymn titled “Macedonia”. 🙂

    Be Thou My Vision is a beautiful hymn though. I love playing it!

    Reply

    • lmparks
      Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:08:26

      i guess it’s sad to say, but i don’t know either of those hymns. but, good news…I now have 2 new ones to go find and listen to!

      & I agree…there are several that I love, and can’t really pick just one favorite!

      Reply

  2. Amanda
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 18:45:50

    My favorite is “Come Thou Fount of Many Blessings” with the Ebenezer verse (the original version). Jadon Lavik’s version of it he came out with a couple of years ago is very good, and I appreciate that he kept the Ebenezer verse intact unlike 99% of worship leaders today…

    Can you tell I’m touchy about the Ebenezer verse? 😉

    Reply

    • lmparks
      Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:13:42

      I can’t tell at all 😉 but, I think we are all entitled to be touchy about the songs we love, esp. the ones that resonate with us.
      I like that one too. It has some great parts for belting out our “joyful noise”

      Reply

      • Amanda
        Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:19:43

        Please note that I know that the actual title is “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” and that my brain is currently a pile of mush. 😉

  3. Jeremy
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 20:04:56

    It’s pretty moving to hear the opening of Ginny Owens record “Without Condition” record when she sings “Be Thou My Vision” considering she went completely blind at the age of three.

    Reply

    • lmparks
      Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:17:13

      Ginny Owens’ rendition is the first time I ever heard this song. Her voice is so clear and angelic, it’s hard not to be moved when she sings this hymn. I would have to say, though, that my favorite recording is done by Fernando Ortega. I tried to find a way to put his version on my blog, but couldn’t figure it out…and there’s no youtube video with his recording.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

