Overwhelming Goodness

Earlier this week I was challenged (by another sermon) to share a story about God’s goodness in my life.  I’ve been thinking about it all week, and have seen God’s goodness in many area of my life, from the love & friendship in my family, to good neighbors and friends, to the fact that I am never in want as God showers me with many blessings.

But, I wanted to find a specific story to share.  And He has given me one, for sure.

As Director of Outreach & Missions for my church (Livingway Church), it is my responsibility to organize and facilitate all outreach opportunities, both locally and worldwide.  It can be very stressful and requires a tremendous amount of time and energy.  Add the fact that I work a 40 hour job, am taking graduate level classes at DTS, and must tend to everyday chores and responsibilities…I am one very busy woman.  God has blessed me with a pretty low-level stress personality, even in high-level situations; but there are times where I get inflated with stress that I feel an impending explosion at any minute. 

Last year, about this time, I started planning a mission trip to Mexico.  Won’t go into details…but it was Stressful with a capital “S”.  In the end, I imploded & just canceled our trip.

A few weeks ago I, along with my pastor and elders, felt God moving our church to go to Haiti this year for our mission trip; and the pressure was on.  Who do we go with? When?  What’s the cost?  Can we afford that?  Do you think people will go? Etc.   All decisions are basically in my hand…”I trust you; whatever you decide.” is what I’ve been told over and over again…which is both very encouraging and also very stressful, knowing that it’s all in my “power” (for lack of a better term).

Since making some major decisions and sharing the trip vision with church members and friends, I have seen nothing but God’s hand at work.  He is bringing people along who are not only interested in going…but they are stepping in, owning the trip, and getting involved in the process.  This may seem like a “yeah, okay, aren’t they supposed to do that?” idea, but the truth is, most often in my experiences…very few people ever help out unless asked, begged, pressured, or  threatened with their salvation.  Ok, maybe not that last one…but it’s extremely difficult to get people to jump in.  Usually, I get bombarded with “We should do this…” or “Why don’t we go do that…”.  Great ideas are thrown at me from all around and them I’m expected to carry through; and when I can’t do it all, people are disappointed or frustrated, And I feel like a failure. 

This time, though, God is using people who are moved to action.  Not just brainstorming (which is good, I’m not knocking that down at all), but people who are willing to get their hands dirty in the hard work…implementing fundraisers, networking for donations, information research, creative communications…all areas that I need help with.

I am overwhelmed by God’s goodness and the people He uses to bless my life!

 So, now I ask you…what’s a story that shows God’s goodness in YOUR life?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. samanthakrieger
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 21:04:35

    Thanks so much for introducing yourself on my blog. I think we have a lot in common. I look forward to getting to know you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

