Reach Out Day 2: Food Distribution

“He who is kind to the poor lends to the LORD, and he will reward him for what he has done.” Proverbs 19:17

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,” Matthew 25:34-35

Throughout the Bible, our Lord commands us to take care of people – to feed the hungry & thirsty, to clothe the naked & cold, to support the widows,  tend to the sick, visit those in prison.  On & On He reminds us to look outside of ourselves and to reach out to our hurting neighbors. I don’t take this command lightly.  I know I can’t reach everyone who hurts or who is in need, but I can do my little part and pray that God is doing something Big through my actions.

Last night, 7 members of my church gathered up the bags of food we aquired from the food drive and headed out to 9 families who are in need of some extra help.  The families ranged from single moms with school age children to an elderly couple and to young parents with small children.  But all had 2 things in common:  they were hungry.  They needed encouragement & reassurance that everything will be okay.

When I first contacted the families about our gifts of food, most received it without any hesitation.  One lady (“Melba”), after hearing my offer, busted out in sobs, explaining that she’s at the point of giving up.  She’s raising her Middle school grandson, but hasn’t been able to work due to some medical issues.  Now that school’s soon to start, she’s feeling more pressure than ever before, but she feels hopeless.   I talked with her for a little while and guided her to additional organizations that may be of further assistance.

The next day, i received a phone call from Melba.  After having a day to think about it, she had grown scepticle of who I was and why I wanted to help.  She just couldn’t understand why some random person would want to help out someone she didn’t even know.  She put me through a round of questions and then said okay.  But i guess it wasn’t okay because an hour or so later she called back and simply said, “I don’t know you and have to think about my grandson’s safety.  Thanks for the offer but I’ve changed my mind.”  Then Melba hung up.

To make a long story short..Melba ended up doing her own investigation and found out the truth of who I am and that what our church was doing was legit, so she profusely apologised to me and greatfully accepted the food.

But Melba’s story got me thinking.  Aren’t we all weary of the gifts promised to us?  Don’t we doubt the Truth and go through fazes of acceptance and denial?

Through His Scripture we read of the many promises that God has for us.  Upon first reading of His promises, we are thankful and excitedly anticipate seeing those promises birth in our lives.  Then, the more we think about them and look at our circumstance, we begin to question their authenticity.  We begin to doubt that those promises are really for us…how could it be True?  Look at how I live.  Look at my circumstances.  God wouldn’t bless me! We forget that God is Love and takes care of His children…we just may not see the promises unfold the way we want them to unfold in the timing that we want them to come.

But we should be like Melba, too.  We need to investigate the Truth to the point where we can’t deny the authenticity of God’s promises.  Where His Word isn’t just head knowledge (where doubt can interfere), but embedded deeply into our hearts where nothing can move us from the Truth.

Many of the people we visited yesterday don’t even have the head knowledge of God.  The ones who do, believe only in a God who is inactive and simply just watching us suffer.  They’ve forgotten the love, hope, & purpose found in Him. Just by offering them food, we’ve been able to show them that God has not forgotten them and that He loves them.  As our members prayed with them, I believe that God worked in their hearts and am praying that one day they will fully grasp the promises of God!

Leave a Reply

