Nassau & News

Wow, i can’t believe it’s been 2 weeks since I last wrote…I’ve got to get better at this!

Tomorrow I leave for Nassau, Bahamas.  For nine days I’ll be basking in the beautiful Bahamian sun while spreading sharing my faith with the Bahamians.  Part of my assignment is to help facilitate and organize an evangelism explosion called Cruise with a Cause.  (check it out by clicking HERE).  Last year proved to be an amazing, life-changing experience as I saw 2000 people exit a cruise ship with one goal – to spread the love of Christ.  Through street evangelism, school programs, and a woman’s conference, thousands of people were reached with God’s Gospel.  At the end of the evening we sat back and enjoyed a free music festival where over 15,000 Bahamians came and heard our worship to our Lord.   SOS, the organization I am a missionary with, helps put on this event each year, and I’m excited to be a part of it again. You can check out some of the photos from last year’s trip by clicking on the “Bahamas 2007” link in the right column of this page.

I will have internet access, so I will post often with updates and prayer requests.

In other news…

Today I cycled almost 30 miles around White Rock Lake.  Other than a few bouts of zapped energy, I pushed through and made it without a scratch or without passing out…which you might have read about several weeks ago.  If not, you can read that scary experience by clicking HERE.  I did have a small scare that included a large grass mower – the huge monster looking machines that are used only for wide areas.  The woman decided to do a U-turn on the path.  I didn’t see her as I was turning the corner, and with a water bottle in my hand I couldn’t brake.  Finally, I just threw the water bottle down on the path in order to slam the brakes, barely escaping what could’ve been a really nasty collision.  Note to self:  buy a camel pack.

And, I did see a squatting man go to the bathroom in a sewage drain next to the trail…definitely wish I hadn’t seen that!  But, when you gotta go, I guess you go…

Leave a Reply

