Reflections on Psalm 139: 1-6

O LORD, You have searched me and known me.
You know my sitting down and my rising up;
You understand my thought afar off.
You comprehend my path and my lying down,
And are acquainted with all my ways.
For there is not a word on my tongue,
But behold, O LORD, You know it altogether.
You have hedged me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is high, I cannot attain it.

Many people would freak out if someone was watching & scrutinizing their every thought, action, and word.  It portrays a creepy stalker who lurks around, breaking all bounds of privacy, but I have different picture; an image of a young boy enamored by a creature behind a glass cage.  As the creature moves, the boy presses his nose against the glass in awe-struck wonder.  He listens closely for sounds and analyzes every movement.  The boy loves the creature and desires to know everything there is to know about it.  It’s with that love and awe that God watches us – but His love is deeper & he already understands all, for He created us with the utmost thought and care.

God has joy in watching us grow & delights in our lives, but he is not an inactive observer.  He guides and protects, as the verses reveal.  Hedge means to completely enclose or surround.  As I read this, I imagine a perfect protective shield surrounding me, an impenetrable barrier made of diamonds – the strongest stone, beautiful & priceless to match the true jewel of worth that it protects.  A glorious light shimmers off these walls as a warning that I, a Child of God, cannot be touched.  But, the most important protection, that which guards my head, is God’s own hand.  It hovers above me, guarding my thoughts, my eyes, my ears.    And each time I see his Hand, I am reminded that it was He who created me into the person that I am today.  It is He who guides me, teaches me, molds me.  It is He who has called me wonderful, even when I cannot see it for myself.


Leave a Reply

