Dreams

Since I was a little girl, I’ve had some of the most vivid dreams. Unfortunately, many of those were either horribly nightmarish or included Joey McCintire (during my New Kids on the Block phase) – perhaps they were all nightmarish, then! Many of those dreams I still can recall in great detail. Even now, I dream several dreams a night.

Up until last October, I was plagued with grisly visions filled with demons, death, and torture. I used to tell Josh about them until he finally told me to stop…they were too unpleasant and gruesome and he didn’t want those visions in his mind. I used to just deal with them, saying that I can’t affect what I’m dreaming about. But, last October I had enough. i was tired of these dreams…not only did they keep me awake at night, but I was plagued with them throughout the days. Satan kept bringing them to my memory and I would replay them over and over again, as i tried to pray them away or quote scripture to replace the negative with God’s powerful words. After telling our mentors about this problem, we prayed together. since then, i have not had one of these dreams. I still dream several dreams a night, and sometimes they’re a little odd, but nothing gruesome or demonic. Plus, I decided to help the situation by not watching any kind of gory movies or tv shows (such as CSI: Las Vegas – which I LOVE! But, honestly, that show if full of twisted, horrible situations and gruesome deaths). So, although we can’t control our dreams, we can control what we put into our minds. As it says in Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

The other day I had a dream that I would say was from God. I think we all, at times, have felt inadequate or unsure about ourselves when it comes to evangelizing or sharing the Gospel with others. As i have started to make new friends here in Ukraine (some who are not in close relationship with the Lord), I know that a time will come soon when it’s time for me to share. or even, when I learn the language and i start talking to strangers – some who are going to be vehemently against even the idea of God. I’ve shared my faith many times, but now it just seems different…i guess, because in this land, I am different. So, anyways, I’ve had some doubts about myself…

then i had this dream Thursday night.

As i was visiting some friends, an older man was also there, I believe he was the father of one of them. Rugged in appearance and brass in his demeanor, he openly criticized me for my faith in God. Instead of arguing or debating, i just lovingly listened to him rant, treated him respectfully, and prayed silently. Before I left, I took a thick, black marker and wrote on the deep freezer “TRUTH”, knowing that as he exited he would see this word.

A little time later (maybe the next day), I was washing some dishes with the same friends. As I had my hands in the greasy water, the old man approached me. With tears in his eyes he grabbed me by my shoulders as exclaimed, “I believe, I believe.”

“What?” I inquired.

With a joyous smile he explained, “I saw the “Truth” and it did something happened inside of me. I can no longer deny Christ – i know the Truth.”

Then, as we were rejoicing together, I woke up.

I have pondered this dream over the last few days. Its meaning is clear and nothing new to my knowledge of scripture- but it’s a reminder that brings excitement to my spirit. There is nothing that I can say or do that will bring people to Christ; Only the TRUTH – God’s Word will convict people, and the Spirit working in them. All I have to do is be faithful to present the Truth.

“Then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.” ~John 8:32

Leave a Reply

