Time. Time. Who’s got the time?

Probably the hardest adjustment I’ve had to make is the timing of things. Unlike in the States where a 40 minute commute takes 40 minutes (if no traffic), here it takes 2 hours. Let me explain.

This week we have begun our language studies in neighboring city, Uzhhorod. Once we board the commuter bus, the ride is only about 40 minutes, give a few more minutes if we pick other commuters up along the way. However, because we do not own a car, we must walk to and from the bus stations. From our house, if we speed walk (which everyone here does…thus, we do too), we can get to the station in about 20 minutes. Buying the tickets and waiting for bus = another 15 minutes. once in Uzhhorod, to save $$ we walk to the tutor’s office, which is another 20 minutes…or if we should spend the 50 cents to take the mashrootka (public bus/van), it still takes about 15 minutes. Add it all up…roughly 2 hours…now repeat that for the return home.

Almost everything here takes longer…

  • cooking – no shortcuts, all from scratch…although i know of some frozen meals at our one grocery store that I’ve yet had time to get to buy
  • laundry – one wash cycle takes over two hours. Then they have to be hung or laid out to dry…another half a day.
  • washing dishes – no dish washers here, except for our hands, two big buckets, and a sponge
  • bathing – no jumping in and out of a shower…we basically sponge bath…although, with as cold as the bathroom gets, we wash as quickly as possible!

And yet, I still feel I have a large amount of time left in my day…although part of that could be the fact that the sun rises before 6 am and doesn’t disappear until after 8 pm. No, I think it’s that I’m using wisely the time that God has given me. Now that my focused has changed and I’m no longer distracted by things that were available to me in Texas (TV, useless shopping, etc), I find that God has blessed me with more time, despite how busy things are at the moment. I still haven’t fully adjusted to the timing of things here, and may not be as productive as I think I should be during much of the time, but, hey…I’ve only been here a week!

Now, back to cooking my dinner…and washing dishes…and studying Ukrainian…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda Cornelius
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 03:15:08

    Hello Josh and Lindsey,
    My my! What we take for granted in the States! It is wonderful what the 2 of you are doing. I am in Kay’s Sunday School class, I know you don’t know me, but I am really enjoying your web site. The day you talked to our class was so interesting. It really changed the way my thoughts were towards missions, because I had never seen a presentation like the one you did.
    I pray that God will bless you and you will reach people who don’t know Him. Good luck on your classes and I will continue to pray for both of you and will surely keep up with your web site.
    Have a blessed day,
    Brenda

    Reply

  2. lmparks
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 16:34:31

    Thank you Brenda for your interest and encouragment. It’s always a blessing to know that others are praying for us and are excited about what God is doing in our lives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

