confession

There is one thing in my life that constantly reappears.  When I think I’ve figured it all out and believe to have conquered the problem, it rears its ugly, sharp claws and attacks me again.  I HATE it…and yet I allow myself to live with it.  It sleeps with me, commutes with me, communicates to me, and follows me around.

You see, I let my guard down.  I get overconfident; feel that I’ve completely rid the problem from my life.  I begin to see things, act upon things, and listen to lies, all the while thinking, “I’m over this, so it can’t affect me like it used to…I’ve become immune to it’s effects.”  Slowly, it creeps back in until I’m back to where I was before.  In my case, it really isn’t a sin – although my story could easily be compared to sins in our lives – but I’ve come to learn WHY this “thing” is so detrimental to my spiritual well-being…it distracts me away from God’s truths.  When this thing becomes dominant in my life, it consumes hours of my time; time that could be used for family, study, ministry, worshiping.  I think about it constantly and it effects ALL my decisions.

Mark 12:30 says, “Love the Lord you God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”  He wants my entire being; all my focus.  When this thing consumes me, God doesn’t have ALL of me – He is not the center of my focus.  Satan knows this, he knows my weak spot and he constantly attacks me when I think I’ve gotten in under control.  That is why we must keep our eyes always on the Lord; the moment we let our guard down, Satan comes in an steers our focus away from God and distracts us.

I’m thankful that the Spirit gently guides me back to the Truth and helps me refocus my attention where it should be – MY RELATIONSHIP WITH MY LORD.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cari Miller
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 14:58:13

    I know how you feel. Sometimes I feel the more Satan sees or hears that anything distracts me or frustrates me, it continues to happen. Satan constantly is out there trying to rob us from seeking and praising God. Trying to keep us busy and distracted from our spiritual goals. Just remember to be careful what you say- words can be powerful and there are many listening; we must also try to keep our thoughts pure and holy for God-for He knows the true intent of our hearts; and always try to live for God as His ambassadors.
    Ephesians-“Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”
    1 Corinthians-“Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.”
    When Satan attacks remember James-“Submit yourselves to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and He will come near to you.”
    1 Peter-“Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul. Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they see your good deeds and glorify God on the day He visits us.”
    There is a constant battle between good and evil whether it is in the world, near us, or even within us. But take heart, Jesus has already overcome it all. Victory is already here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

