Where I’m From

I am from children’s books scattered about the floor, My Little Pony, and a four-post canopy bed.

 

I am from the corner house where the grass stands a little too tall, the paint is slightly chipped, but the rooms are filled with laughter.

 

I am from the cottonwood tree that blankets our cars with white blooms and the swaying bluebonnets that paint our fields, even if only momentarily.

 

I am from the family who prefers Christmas Steak over Christmas turkeys and values time with loved ones, from the Wheelers and Abrams and Parks.

 

I am from late night board games and Sunday drive sing-a-longs.

 

From “Don’t chew with your mouth open” to “You can do anything you put your all into”.

 

I am from Vacation Bible Schools, Youth Camps and Mission trips where I learned that Christ is my Savior and through Him I really can do anything.

 

I’m from the Lone Star State and southern hospitality, from Tex-Mex, Chicken Fried Steak smothered in gravy, and Bluebell ice cream.

 

From the pine cone stuck to my father’s bald head after an autumn pine cone fight, from the language spoken from my grandmother’s hands, and from the labor of my mother’s long work hours so that I could eat, sleep, and grow in comfort, shielding me from the hardships she endured.

 

I am from the wooden frames that line our staircase walls, from boxes of trophies and certificates stuffed away in old printer paper boxes, and from an 8-year old girl’s rabbit fur coat delicately tucked away in her mommy’s closet.

 Note:  Although I would like to say that I came up with this poem’s concept on my own, I cannot.  This poem is from a template that has been around for many years.  It is inspired by George Ella Lyons’ poem “Where I’m From.” And, there is even a templateto help you get started if you’d like to write your own.

Leave a Reply

