The Fruit of the Spirit is love…

1 John 4:20 (New International Version)20If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.

 

Jesus gave us a new command that said we should love one another. This is very hard. Often I complain and talk about others with whom I am frustrated. In these times I need to remember Christ’s words above. Andrew Murray wrote in his book “Absolute Surrender”, “You can deceive yourself with beautiful thoughts about loving God. ” He goes on to say, “You must prove your love to God by your love for your brothers, that is the standard by which God will judge your love to Him.”

When I read the words from 1 John, I am forced to look at how I treat others. I can’t physically see God the way I see those who I come in contact with on a day to day basis. Those whom I can see I don’t always care to be around and often find hard to love. Christ says that if we can’t love those around us then we can’t love God. Which then again, forces me to treat others better than I feel they deserve.

I do love God very much and therefore I must set aside all differences with others and love them, even my enemies. Lord, give me a heart that loves like you do. Even when I am far from you, you still love me. Even when I reject you, you are always there for me. Help me to reach out to others the way you reach out to me.

Leave a Reply

