God’s Muslim Warriors

CNN is running a series this week called “God’s Warriors”. Each night is focused on a different religion: Tuesday was “God’s Jewish Warriors”, tonight is “God’s Christian Warriors” and last night was “God’s Muslim Warriors.” Although I have many thoughts on the title of last night’s show, I won’t get into it right now.

What I do want to talk about comes from the lips of two of the young Muslim ladies, that they interviewed. Their words struck a chord in my spirit and I have been thinking of them since.

1. One discusses wearing the hijab, the head covering that many Muslim women choose (or may notchoose) to wear. She says, “I want to shift the attention from my outer self to my inner self when I deal with someone,” She goes on to say that Allah requires women to be modest, and she was tired of being looked upon as a piece of meat. For her, wearing the hijab is a way to cover herself in modesty and show people that she does not care to be looked upon for her beauty. I could say the same thing, except change the focus…”I want to shift the attention from my outer self to CHRIST WHO IS IN ME when I deal with someone.” It’s not about beauty or gaining attention of those who look at me, it’s about showing Christ. If that means that I wear something that causes a man to look upon me with lust, then I should not wear it. If that means that I refrain from going certain places where God is not glorified, then I should not go there. If that means, keeping my mouth closed instead of speaking, then I will stay silent. Everything we do should be done with one question in mind, “Will this bring attention to Christ or to myself?” If the answer is Christ, then proceed joyfully. However, if it brings glory to yourself…flee from it.

2. Another young lady said (and I paraphrase) that many people observe their faith only on Sundays, while living freely throughout the rest of the week. But for her, she worships daily and she finds joy in waking up each morning because she gets to worship her god. (end of paraphrase). My heart broke for this young lady because she has put 100% faith and devotion into a false god. I pray that she sees the truth found in Jesus Christ. But then I was saddened even more by the realization that what she said about others was true. Many Christians do not even practice the simple disciplines of reading/studying the Word of God, praying, fasting, and memorizing the scriptures. Their days are filled with soccer games, television, shopping, and internet surfing. They complain that they don’t have time to sit down and study the Words of our God and Savior…yet, they have time to attend a two – three hour movie filled with things displeasing to God.

I don’t want to rant and rave…but it’s time for Christians to dust off their Bible and find joy in worshiping the one, true living God every day of the week, not just on Sundays.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hijab
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 10:50:02

    Although i’m not christian but the fact is for everybody to be able to look into their religion and other religions and try and figure out whats true and that there is a God

    Reply

  2. Jaybrams
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 12:53:41

    Good thoughts. We actually talked similarly about point #1 in my class last night (that feels weird to say). Its often difficult from a human perspective to ignore any praises we receive even when we turn them to God in an honest way, not a “false humility” way. A great recommendation for current or future vocational ministers from last night: Always make sure to do as much as you can without getting paid for it. Meaning, go ahead and perform your work duties to the best of your abilities, but look for things you can accomplish for God’s kingdom without those who hand over the paychecks knowing. Thus, the focus is truly Christ-centered.

    But, I just want to point out that Soccer is the sport most recommended by God because it focuses teamwork. Much like God calls us to work together. So, when I watcher soccer I’m really learning about Jesus… i think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

