10 Fingers & 10 Toes

via Flickr”]20061126_DHo_baby feet (11)_B&W_ps

Often, in the “Do you want a boy or girl?” conversation, one innocent phrase pops up at the conclusion…

“As long as he or she has 10 fingers and 10 toes, right?”

or a phrase similar to it.  (“As long as it’s healthy, we don’t care what the gender.”)

A few weeks ago, I had such a phrase interjected into one of my conversations.  I smiled politely without thinking twice about the statement; but now I’m not so sure I agree.  Actually, I don’t agree with it all.

You see, I believe that even those people born with disabilities, diseases, abnormalities, and mental handicaps have been shaped and created by God.   I may not understand why God allows these things to exist, but I do know every person, no matter his capabilities or health, has a purpose in life and is cherished just as much as any healthy person.

I pray daily for our child’s health… but if our son or daughter should be born without 10 fingers or toes, or not “perfectly healthy”, my love for him or her will not diminish.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 03:47:11

    Lindsey it’s funny that you say this because no one gives this a thought when they say something like that. And they mean it as a positive thing. I certainly never gave a moment’s thought to the phrase. But my boss at work told me that when his wife was pregnant, someone said that to her “as long as it’s healthy right?” – and she replied “Actually no – nothing matters except that he or she gets here safely.” Jeff said it was something she was pretty vocal about because it does come up often during these conversations. Their child is severely autistic and Jeff believes that her heart was somehow sensitive to this and she was already fiercely protective of her special little boy before she even knew. It’s just a sweet story that your post reminded me of. You’re going to be a good mommy.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 04:08:19

    What a moving description of a mother’s love. Thank you for sharing it.

    Reply

  3. ukrainiac
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 04:57:11

    Lindsey…you spoke my heart as well. I have told people recently that I have changed my prayers for babies over the past several years…many families I know (especially one very dear family) have children with all different levels of disabilities. Those families cannot imagine life without these little ones and have learned a great deal about themselves and their God through these lives. I now pray for safe delivery.

    Our second grandson is due at the end of May. May He be loved for who he is.

    Praying for your delivery as well. May God give you grace and strength to raise up this child for His glory.

    Thanks for posting this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

