Boy or Girl?

This baby is one month old.

Image via Wikipedia

Lately I’ve been asked quite frequently whether I feel the baby is a boy or girl.  It’s weird, but my feelings have changed.  In the beginning, I felt it was a girl and could only think of girl names and decorations.  However, about 6 weeks ago I started thinking “boy” and couldn’t focus on anything girly.  Either way, we’ll be happy.

Along with being asked what I think, I get a lot of guesses…”You seem to carrying low, so I think it’s a girl.”  (or, I’ve even heard the exact opposite…that since it seems I’m carrying low, I’ll probably have a boy).

“Craving sweets? – it’s a girl.”

“It’s a boy…I’ve dreamed it!”

And so it continues on.

I really do enjoy the guesses; it’s part of the fun.  So in keeping with spirit, I decided to go through the wives’ tales that are supposed to determine if the baby’s a girl or boy. Below is a list that I found on ivillage.com with the supposed gender determinants.  Next to each symptom I’ve placed a YES or NO depending on if I’ve experienced it.  (I’ve deleted a few really personal ones about my nipples and urine.  Not sure you really want to hear about that!)

It’s a boy if:

  • You didn’t experience morning sickness in early pregnancy.  YES
  • Your baby’s heart rate is less than 140 beats per minute.  NO
  • You are carrying the extra weight out front. (NOT SURE WHAT THIS MEANS REALLY…BUT, YES?)
  • Your belly looks like a basketball. UM…YES?  A SMALL ONE…
  • You are carrying low.  YES
  • You are craving salty or sour foods. YES
  • You are craving protein — meats and cheese. YES
  • Your feet are colder than they were before pregnancy. NO
  • The hair on your legs has grown faster during pregnancy. NOT REALLY, MY HAIR’S ALWAYS GROWN ANNOYINGLY FAST!
  • Your hands are very dry. NO
  • Your pillow faces north when you sleep.  WHAT?  BASED ON WHICH SIDE OF THE PILLOW?  IF IT’S BASED ON THE OPENING OF THE PILLOW COVER…THEN, YES.
  • Dad-to-be is gaining weight right along with you. DOESN’T LOOK LIKE IT, SO, NO.
  • Pregnancy has you looking better than ever. UM…NO… UNLESS YOU THINK OF A WIDENING BUTT AS “LOOKING BETTER”! (yes, I know I’m pregnant & it comes with the joy of becoming a mother…but it doesn’t mean I have to like the idea of the weight gain.  In fact, this has been the hardest part for me).
  • Your nose is spreading. OH NO!! DOES THIS HAPPEN IN PREGNANCY TOO?!?!  NOT YET FOR ME, AT LEAST.
  • You hang your wedding ring over your belly and it moves in circles. LOL!! I JUST DID THIS FOR THE FIRST TIME…AND IT WENT IN CIRCLES BUT THEN STOOD STILL WHEN I MOVED IT AWAY FROM MY BELLY!
  • You are having headaches. YES.  JUST RECENTLY STARTED.
  • You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived and the sum is an even number. NOPEIT’S AN ODD #.

It’s a girl if:

  • You had morning sickness early in pregnancy. NO
  • Your baby’s heart rate is at least 140 beats per minute.  YES.
  • You are carrying the weight in your hips and rear. NO
  • Your left breast is larger than your right breast.  :)   NO.
  • Your hair develops red highlights. NO
  • You are carrying high.    NO.
  • Your belly looks like a watermelon.  YES?  IDK…WHAT KIND OF WATERMELON? SOME ARE PRETTY ROUND LIKE A BASKETBALL!
  • You are craving sweets. YES!  CAN YOU SAY “BANANA SPLIT”?
  • You are craving fruit. YES!  EVEN GRAPES, WHICH I DON’T EVEN REALLY LIKE.
  • You crave orange juice. NOT REALLY. BUT I’VE ALWAYS DRANK A BUNCH OF JUICE SINCE I WAS A LITTLE GIRL.
  • You don’t look quite as good as normal during pregnancy.  YESMY FACE IS BREAKING OUT & I’VE ALWAYS HAVE CLEAR, CLEAR SKIN!
  • You are moodier than usual during pregnancy. YES.  MY HUSBAND, MOM AND STUDENTS WILL CONFIRM THIS ONE!
  • Your face breaks out more than usual. YES.  JUST RECENTLY.
  • You refuse to eat the heel of a loaf of bread.  YES.  BUT THIS IS NOTHING NEW; I’VE NEVER EATEN THE HEEL.
  • Your breasts have really blossomed!  NOPE. NOT YET.  :(
  • Your pillow faces south when you sleep.  AGAIN…IDK…BUT NO, BASED ON MY PREVIOUS CONCLUSION.
  • You hang your wedding ring over your belly and it moves from side.  NO
  • You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived and the sum is an odd number. YES
Results:
Yeses for “boy”:  9
Yeses for “girl”:  9

I guess we’ll just have to wait for the conclusive sonogram scheduled for March 10!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 13:53:26

    One of your points above was this: “You are carrying the extra weight out front. (NOT SURE WHAT THIS MEANS REALLY…BUT, YES?)” – it makes me smile to explain from a Dad’s point of view. :)

    Ask someone to look at you from behind, and as they watch, turn to the right or left 90 degrees. Ask, “does it look like I just made a turn in the marching band with the big bass drum?” – if “yes”, then you’re carrying more of the baby “in front” then kind of flopped in the middle-ish. My wife was that way with our first, a son, and was more pearshaped with our daughter.

    Don’t think that changes your numbers, but good luck either way.

    Reply

  2. jaybrams
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 20:56:27

    It was a boy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

