Bahamafest

Bright blue skies hovered above the green fields of Clifford Park.  Scattered groups of vendors scurried to set up their products while DecembeRadio checked the stage’s sound.  My team and I strategized on the best plan for passing out 2000 school supplies and busied ourselves with setting up the safety barriers.

As I worked, I reflected on the week.  Satan had tried so hard to discourage us and distract us from what God was doing.  But despite our stolen items, assaults from homeless men, and car crashes, God, as always, proved Himself to be faithful and mighty.

This day of Evangelism explosion began with a few hitches – some last minute school cancellations, but after a few phone calls everything was set in place.  2000 people filed off the cruise ship, boarded their buses and arrived at their destination school.

Arriving at T.G. Glover Primary School, the group of 20 Americans that I lead and I heard a chorus of small voices from within the school:

I am a promise. I am a possibilty

I am a promise with a capital P

I am a great big bundle of Potentiality

And I am learnin’ to hear God’s voice

And I am tryin’ to make the right choice

I am a promise to be anything God wants to me to be.

My heart filled with joy listening to the children sing.  What an incredible message to hear…even as an adult I still need to be reminded of who I am with God in my life.  My next thought was, “Wow – this is a public school, and they’re learning the Word of God!”

Back at the festival later in the evening, I saw between 25,000 – 30,000 Bahamians come together for one purpose – to worship God.  Well, maybe some came for the free school supplies or just because it was a free concert – but no matter why they were there, they still heard the Gospel message and participated in worshiping our God.

(click on a picture to see a larger version)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

